Geography of Sibiria

Siberia spans the area from the Ural Mountain Range in the west to the Pacific island of Sakhalin north of Japan and to the far eastern peninsula of Kamchatka, which is bordering the Bering Sea. While its northern boundary consists of the North Polar Sea - including the island of Novaya Semlia, Franz-Joseph-Land, the Bear Islands, Severnaia Semlia, and the New Siberian Islands - the southern part of Siberia is defined rather arbitrarily by the borders of Kazakhstan, Mongolia, and China. The total area of Siberia comprises 11 mio. km².

East Siberia

The Far East (another name for East Siberia) consists of the area that stretches from River Lena and Lake Baikal to the Pacific ... [more]

West Sibiria's Geography

West Siberia comprises the area between Ural Mountain Range and Yenissei River, and it consists of basically nothing else than Siberian Lowlands.[more]

Central Siberia's Geography

The largest part of Siberia can be found between Yenissei River and an imaginary border near River Lena and Lake Baikal. [more]

Siberian Climes

The continental clime, with a 5 - 7 months long winter and temperatures as low as -50°C (-58°F), is predominant in Siberia... [more]


Print article
Register for a the newsletter!
Become a sponsor!

30 Jan 2006

Hostelworld Ad

Eastblock Music


Echange Rate Roubles