East Siberia's Geography

The Far East (another name for East Siberia) consists of the area that stretches from River Lena and Lake Baikal to the Pacific and the Bering Sea as well as to the Ochotskian Sea and the Japanese Sea. Furthermore, the Bering Islands, the peninsula of Kamchatka, the island of Sakhalin as well as the Kurile Islands north of Japan - which are also bordering the Ochotskian Sea - all belong to East Siberia.
In the south, it's mostly Amur River that forms the border to China. This part of Siberia is quite mountainous, especially the northern part with elevations up to 3.000 m high; on Kamchatka, some volcanoes are up to 4.750 m high.
Apart from the lumber industry, the fishing industry has the highest economical impact. Major towns are Magadan, Chabarovsk, Komsomolsk, Vladivostok, and Jushno-Sakhalinsk.


Print article
Register for a the newsletter!
Become a sponsor!

30 Jan 2006

Hostelworld Ad

Eastblock Music


Echange Rate Roubles